Dr. Ball Final Adventure, Hooked!

 Before I go into my last adventure, I want to say thanks to everyone that has been following my blog. It was my pleasure to teach you the fundamentals of the game of basketball, and I want you all to be able to step on a basketball court and pick up a game. On my last adventure blog post I remember I was teaching a college basketball team. Read the rest of this entry »


Jump hook!

Basketball player Richard Mason Rocca

The jump hook is a very effective shot when you’re near the basket and you have a taller player guarding you. If you were to take a jump shot in front of someone taller than you, it takes them very little time to react and block your shot. This is why the jump hook will benefit you the most. Read the rest of this entry »


The Euro Step

The euro step is a hard basketball move that takes a lot of concentration to execute. Many point guards and guards who can utilize the euro step can dominate in the game and throw defenders off their feet. It’s not a move you can use all the time but it’s a move that will throw off your defender every now and then. Once you stop your dribble your allowed two steps before you have to stop or take the shot. Read the rest of this entry »


Bank it!

Wizards v/s Spurs 02/12/11

Do you ever wonder why players say “bank” after he shoots the basketball? Well he’s calling it because he’s using the backboard as he shoots his next shot. Using the backboard will deflect the ball into the direction of the basketball hoop. This shot can be done in a stand still shot or a jump shot. Read the rest of this entry »


Deadly Crossover

Allen Iverson defended by Stephen Curry

Allen Iverson defended by Stephen Curry (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I believe that any guard that knows how to run an offense and utilized the crossover will lead his team to victory. The crossover move is hard to learn and difficult to defend. It keeps your defender guess on which direction you are actually going to run. The crossover move helps outmaneuver your opponents, especially when dribbling against a man-to-man defense. The move is to quickly switch your dribble from one hand to the other by bouncing the ball in front of you. The fast swift motion catches the defender off guard which allows you to dribble past the player. Allen Iverson from the NBA was breaking all his defenders ankles when he was crossing them over on the court. If a guard runs fast in one direction and then switches the dribble to the other hand and run the opposite direction, the defender would have to react so fast but by the time he does, they’ll already have took the open shot. Till this day it is hard to me to defender players who can use the crossover effectively. I find it a little easier to guard these by simply putting your hand near their waist while they are running, but not technically touching them. This will move will help you feel where your opponent is running and help you react a little faster. It will take you some time to run with the opponent while your arm is in front of them, but it will catch them off guard when you’re in front of them blocking their shot. Thanks for reading stay tuned for my next post!


Dr. Ball’s Adventure #3 One Step Back Can Win the Game

Manu Ginobili playing for the San Antonio Spurs.

Manu Ginobili playing for the San Antonio Spurs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I remember my last game of senior year of high school as if it was yesterday; the game was against our city rival. The worst part was playing at their court, giving them home court advantage. Their school was so loud I could barely hear my coach call out the play. The game was tied all the way down to the 4th quarter, both 54-54. There was a minute left in the game and it was hard to concentrate with all the screaming of the audience, but I knew that noise wasn’t just getting to me. My defender looks like he’s also having a hard time with all the noise, so I thought I would capitalize on our next possession. With only a minute left on the clock and the other team had the ball, they took it down really aggressive thinking they would get a foul, but it didn’t turn in their favor when they missed with 36 seconds left on the clock. Read the rest of this entry »